ALL-PARTY PARLIAMENTARY GROUP ON VEGETARIANISM AND VEGANISM



Annual General Meeting 28.02.2023

Room W2, House of Commons

Voting Members:

Christina Rees MP (Ind) Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour) John Howell MP (Con) Marie Rimmer MP (Labour) Jonathan Edwards MP (Independent) Ruth Jones MP (Labour)

Non-voting attendees:

Amanda Woodvine, CEO at V for Life Claire Ogley, Head of Campaigns, Policy and Research, The Vegan Society Moussa Haddad, Head of Research and Policy, V for Life

Chair Christina Rees MP opened the meeting by thanking the sponsors and the officers and moved to vote for officers.

Election of Officers:

Officers were elected to the following positions:

Christina Rees MP	Chair
Henry Smith MP	Vice Chair
Seema Malhotra MP	Vice Chair
Kerry McCarthy MP	Vice Chair
Alex Sobel MP	Vice Chair

Motion Passed

To agree that V for Life and The Vegan Society will continue as co-sponsors of the group and that The Vegan Society will continue to provide the secretariat.

Discussion

The group discussed plans for future events. It was agreed that we would reconvene to discuss next steps in advocacy work stemming from the APPG Inquiry report of 2021.

About the APPG on Vegetarianism and Veganism

The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Vegetarianism and Veganism (VegAPPG) was formed in December 2016. The VegAPPG is chaired by Christina Rees MP and brings together MPs, Peers, and third sector organisations from across the political spectrum to debate, discuss, and campaign on the key issues that vegetarians and vegans face.